2017 MLB awards: Corey Kluber, Max Scherzer win Cy Young

Indians ace Corey Kluberwas voted the AL Cy Young Award winner Wednesday,the Baseball Writers’ A sociation of America announced Tuesday. Max Scherzerwas voted to his second consecutive Cy Young Award on the NL side.Kluber became the first Indians pitcher to collect two Cy Sandy Koufax Jersey Young Awards, having previously captured the title in 2014. Kluber helped the Indians to an AL-best 102-60 record this season while compiling an 18-4 record with 2.25 ERA and 265 strikeouts in 203 2/3 innings.For the first time in club history, we have a two-time Cy Young Award winner.Congrats, Corey! #CyKluber pic.twitter.com/7XGhrtGJt6 Cleveland Indians (@ https://www.dodgersedge.com/los-angeles-dodgers/chris-taylor-jersey Indians) November 15, 2017Kluber, who beat out Yankees ace Luis Severino and Red Sox hurler Chris Sale for the award,went 5-0 while allowing just four earned runs in 43 innings during six September starts. He struck out at least eight batters in 19 of his last 23 starts.Scherzer went 16-6 with a 2.51 ERA and268 strikeouts in 200 2/3 innings. He beat out Dodgers ace Clayton Kershaw201-126 in voting points. Nationals teammate Stephen Strasburg was third.Max Scherzer has won the National League Cy Young Award!(Yes, this is a new tweet.) pic.twitter.com/v6sapCpnAZ Washington Nationals (@Nationals) November 15, 2017Scherzer was the sixth NL pitcher to win the award in consecutive seasons. Greg Maddux (1992-95) and Randy Johnson (1999-2002) each won four years in a row. The other back-to-back winners were Sandy Koufax (1965-66), Kershaw (2013-14) and Tim Lincecum (2008-09).Ballots from two writers in each league city prior to postseason play are tabulated on a system that rewards five points for first place, three points for second place and one point for third Julio Urias Jersey place.